Reviews

Terry L.
5 star rating
8/13/2022 - Yelp

We were very pleased with CVCA, staff, doctors and the entire experience. We will recommend you to all that need this level of care. Thank You! The entire staff at CVCA is friendly and caring. Very professional group.

Laura A.
5 star rating
8/12/2022 - Yelp

Excellent care with kindness - talented group, comfortable facility

Morgan Rider
8/08/2022 - Facebook

Super happy with Dr. Allen's level of examination, care and communication. Reassuring to have Alfie in her care and treatment.

Michelle G.
5 star rating
8/05/2022 - Yelp

The entire staff is super friendly and compassionate. The vet tech/assistant was WONDERFUL. She was so awesome I was so focused on how amazing she is I forgot to get her name, but I think it was Amanda. 🙂 She really helped me feel at ease at what is a very stressful time in my life. You never go to the cardiologist with positive anticipation. You are extremely lucky to have her on your staff. Dr. Everett was equally wonderful. She was transparent, answered every question I had, and was very kind on top of professional. Even though Augustus' heart is fine, there is a mass in his chest and Dr. Everett pointed me toward the next steps in his care. The only thing I wish your office could do is schedule appointments with the surgical center that shares office space. Like with humans, I imagine your office calling another specialist office could get a pet in who has recurrent pleural effusion, which is an urgent matter, an appointment faster than 2 weeks out. I'm not dwelling on this because that might not be how the vet med world works. This is just on my wish list.

Russell B.
5 star rating
8/05/2022 - Yelp

We came for our annual cardiology checkup for our dog, which is always stressful for us, and they made it a wonderful experience! Lisa was an absolute joy! If it weren't so far for me to come there I'd bring my dogs up there for everything because she was so amazing to work with, it really was the highlight of the day! Everything was right on time, quick, and efficient, it was one of the best vet visits I've ever had.

Su J.
5 star rating
8/05/2022 - Yelp

I almost never give 5-star reviews, however this time it is definitely merited. My cat and I received incredible attention and care at the Rockville location, from the moment I called to make an appointment, to when we returned home after the appointment and found all the details and follow-up instructions already waiting in my inbox.
Everything went as smoothly as silk--Dr. Hickey explained everything in detail and answered all of my questions thoroughly. The vet techs were gentle and handled my beloved cat with tenderness and expertise. Both I and my cat arrived back home after our appointment relaxed and knowing exactly how to proceed forward with his care.
These are obviously very expert, experienced and engaged people at this facility, and they made it a stressless experience for both me and my cat, which is very rare nowadays (especially when it involves a cat).

Marcia A.
5 star rating
8/03/2022 - Yelp

If you have a pet with cardiac issues there is no better place for their care in the Midwest. Dr. Bell and her staff cared for our Cavalier King Charles for several years and helped him achieve a longer and happier life with medications, lifestyle modifications and regular checkups. We would recommend them without reservation.

Kimberly Lowe
8/01/2022 - Facebook

Went there today for first appointment and had a wonderful experience. Highly recommend Dr. Bell and her staff😃

Darlene Pearce
7/29/2022 - Facebook

It was worth taking a day off work to provide my dog with the knowledge and help from the team. The care they took of my dog was exceptional. They were very kind and explained everything to me. They even let me hug him while the service was being done.

Candice Valentine
7/28/2022 - Facebook

I just can not say enough good things about the entire CVCA experience. Every single aspect of the appointment was perfect. Check-in ladies, assistant, and DR. BRETT! He was so compassionate and loving to our big boy. He made sure he was thorough, very focused, detail-oriented, and made sure we understood completely his care plan and next steps. We walked away feeling 100% better than when we came in for our appointment. I would highly recommend CVCA to anyone. Thank you all!!

Kristina Karoutsos
7/27/2022 - Facebook

I truly felt my dog, Osie, and I were cared for and important to CVCA - Frederick. They even had a sign welcoming us when we arrived. The personable care that was given to us meant so much! Doctor Schmitt Felber talked through the entire ultrasound and ensured I understood what was going on. I knew she was wonderful when she got on the floor to meet my dog. I know it calmed Osie too! The entire staff there that day were so kind. Thank you again for making us feel so welcomed!!

Kristina Karoutsos
7/27/2022 - Facebook

I truly felt my dog, Osie, and I were cared for and important to CVCA - Frederick. They even had a sign welcoming us when we arrived. The personable care that was given to us meant so much! Doctor Schmitt Felber talked through the entire ultrasound and ensured I understood what was going on. I knew she was wonderful when she got on the floor to meet my dog. I know it calmed my dog too. All the staff was so kind.

Kristina K.
5 star rating
7/27/2022 - Yelp

I truly felt my dog, Osie, and I were cared for and important to CVCA - Frederick. They even had a sign welcoming us when we arrived. The personable care that was given to my dog and myself meant so much to us. Doctor Schmitt Felber talked through the entire ultrasound and ensured I understood what was going on. I knew she was wonderful when she got on the floor to meet my dog. I know it calmed my dog too. All the staff was so kind.

Mike Filling Sr.
7/26/2022 - Facebook

The doctors are excellent. Be prepared to pay for it.

Sharon A Loken
7/25/2022 - Facebook

Sent to CVCA FOR A POSSIBLE OF CONGESTIVE HEART. THEY DID NOT FIND THIS SO SHE WAS SENT HOME WITH A HOLTOR MONOTOR. Hope we get a result from this. Great place for cardiac work up

Nealey Stapleton
7/22/2022 - Facebook

They were very warm and welcoming, had a fast check in process, comfortable rooms and very sweet with our dog. Highly recommend them!

Stuart McLean
7/21/2022 - Facebook

Everyone I encountered was friendly, knowledgeable, and compassionate!

Angelette Marie Ruck
7/21/2022 - Facebook

Baby and I were very impressed with the staff at CVCA, we both received the level of care and attention to detail that made our visit a pleasure! I was very satisfied with the level of care and consideration for both me and my Baby.

Angie R.
5 star rating
7/21/2022 - Yelp

Baby and I were very impressed with the staff at CVCA, we both received the level of care and attention to detail that made our visit a pleasure! I was very satisfied with the level of care and consideration for both me and my Baby.

Lisa M.
4 star rating
7/17/2022 - Yelp

They are fantastic, except for one thing: my dog lived a long time under their care. But in this time of veterinary shortages, any assumption that a regular vet who claims to treat emergencies, can be available, recognize, treat or refer to a competent emergency care facility is false.

If I had it to do over again, I wish they had said, "If your pet is in what might be any respiratory distress, take them to AVES or CTVSH or even Pet Specialists.."

There are at least a few Austin veterinary emergency clinics that can't recognize what I now know to be obvious cardiac emergencies. The vet shortage is so bad, that you can't expect competent care, outside a veterinary emergency hospital.

Don't trust any veterinarian that is not an actual cardiologist, if you have a pet that needs to be treated by this practice.

The doctors here are great. They should make sure they give guidance on what to do if you are a long term patient, in our current vet shortage crisis.

Melani French Webb
7/13/2022 - Facebook

I am a veterinarian and refer my clients to CVCA without hesitation at least once weekly, but this was my 1st time personally needing their services for my pet! I am thankful that the Vienna team was willing & able to accommodate me for a visit so quickly & for the professional courtesy discount! The appointment started on time and took the hour that was predicted. I appreciated that Dr. Peckins took the time to speak with me on the phone after the exam to discuss medications and recommendations since I was out of town and had my mom bring my dog for me. I always knew CVCA was great, but now I can recommend them even more highly due to personal experience!

Cyn B.
5 star rating
7/13/2022 - Yelp

I appreciate everything done for my pup thus far.
All the staff -- front desk, techs, Dr Cain-- were very nice and professional. Communication is wonderful and the 'bedside manner' w/ my skiddish and nervous pup was very good. The prices may seem a little costly, but that is understandable for a specialty vet and everything was disclosed upfront. No surprises. I recommend and will return.

Cheri R.
5 star rating
7/09/2022 - Yelp

Great service for my 15-year-old cat who is starting to have heart issues. Excellent communication by Dr Holdt, lots of info provided to me about what was going on with my cat and next steps. Didn't push meds or other interventions at this time. Pricey, but I have not comparison-shopped so don't know if they are average or above or below average for this type of specialty care.

Kirstie Conners
7/07/2022 - Facebook

My kitten was referred to CVCA in Frederick, MD following the discovery of a murmur on an exam by her primary veterinarian and we could not be happier with the care that was provided during her visit. The reception staff offered a warm welcome that set the tone for the remainder of the visit. The cardiologist ensured we had a thorough understanding of Wren's current condition as well as any necessary follow-up care by taking time following the exam to explain her findings and clarify any questions we presented. The passion this team has for providing exceptional care is evident and I would confidently recommend CVCA to anyone needing cardiology care for their pet.

Alexis S.
5 star rating
7/07/2022 - Yelp

I am very pleased with the care that was provided to my dog. I would highly recommend CVCA to family, friends, and all who I may come in contact with. I feel that my dog is in great hands when he visits CVCA.

Elizabeth H.
5 star rating
6/27/2022 - Yelp

Dr. Peckens is so gentle with Kessler and always has thoughtful and thorough explanations of what he's doing and what I can expect. We trust him completely and are so lucky to have found him!

Marjorie Lee
6/18/2022 - Facebook

CVCA has cared for our four dogs. Dr. Lefbom is a quintessential cardiologist and warm human! She inspires total confidence and the dogs love her! CVCA is efficiently run and has 👍a most welcoming staff.

Amanda Barrett
6/16/2022 - Facebook

Went for my dog's OFA advanced cardiac exam/echo with hopes of a normal heart on my dog who has gotten the short end of the genetic stick despite solid, reputable breeding(sometimes that's how it goes). Good news, her heart is beautiful! 🫀🥳

While it wasn't a sick visit and I truly hope I never see you guys again, I appreciate the clear communication both by the tech to get us checked in and by the vet going over the results of the exam/echo.

They are still curbside only and while I'm sure a lot of people may be wanting to come inside I appreciate being able to sit in my car to work on other stuff, listen to music and bonus my dog has a new experience meeting new people in a positive environment. The doctor was very clear and informative and I did not feel rushed at all.

There was good communication/expectations about protocol including having the form to fill out the animal's medical history emailed so I could do it a week in advance, quick checkin/process.

Would 120% go back if I ever had an animal with heart issues(God willing I never will).

Marissa Mumbulo
6/16/2022 - Facebook

Thank you Kelcey and Dr. Stern for taking such great care of Graeae today! I can not say enough good things about the entire experience! We appreciate you both!

Amanda B.
5 star rating
6/16/2022 - Yelp

Went for my dog's OFA advanced cardiac exam/echo with hopes of a normal heart on my dog who has gotten the short end of the genetic stick despite solid, reputable breeding(sometimes that's how it goes). Good news, her heart is beautiful!

While it wasn't a sick visit and I truly hope I never see you guys again, I appreciate the clear communication both by the tech to get us checked in and by the vet going over the results of the exam/echo.

They are still curbside only and while I'm sure a lot of people may be wanting to come inside I appreciate being able to sit in my car to work on other stuff, listen to music and bonus my dog has a new experience meeting new people in a positive environment. The doctor was very clear and informative and I did not feel rushed at all.

There was good communication/expectations about protocol including having the form to fill out the animal's medical history emailed so I could do it a week in advance, quick checkin/process.

Would 120% go back if I ever had an animal with heart issues(God willing I never will).

Sarah C.
5 star rating
6/16/2022 - Yelp

I came into my appointment with Dr. Savino and her team incredibly worried for my cat's health. I was immediately put at ease thanks to their kindness, compassion, and amazing bedside manner with my cat Arlo. Despite being poked and prodded during his echocardiogram, this was easily Arlo's most low-stress veterinary appointment. Dr. Savino was incredible and her care and compassion for my pet really touched my heart. I left the appointment with a strong understanding of the outcome of our appointment and could not be more pleased with the entire process and fast wait times.

Heidi C.
5 star rating
6/13/2022 - Yelp

Excellent experience! From the receptionist to the Vet Tech to the Cardiologist! On time, very caring and explained everything that was going on with our pet in plain, simple English.

Sharon M.
5 star rating
6/10/2022 - Yelp

While never easy to need to take a beloved pet for cardiac care, Dr. T is the best - with the fur babies and their crazy owners. Straight forward, proactive and caring. As an owner of Cavies, we (unfortunately) know all about cardio care. Thanks for all you do! Dr. Tyrrell is the best at what he does!

Rachelle Neverdahl
6/09/2022 - Facebook

Professional and explained the results very clearly.

Alex Thomas Stetka
6/09/2022 - Facebook

I have 2 pets with internal issues and I will now go to Towson for both. The doctor explained everything in detail for me, she was not rush, the vet tech also was great Jill, I think, I will continue to go see Dr. Shin rather then the Columbia location.

Michael Z.
5 star rating
6/09/2022 - Yelp

Another great visit! Thanks! I appreciate the way Dr. Andrie explained everything using a heart diagram. I just love all the staff, they are always friendly.

Lucy Morison
6/04/2022 - Google

I really appreciate the TLC that my beloved cat, Maverick, received. He was treated with the same care as would have been appropriate for a child.

Krissy Kogok
6/02/2022 - Google

I highly recommend CVCA cardiac care. The communication is always good and the doctor is very caring and professional

Heather Lay
6/01/2022 - Facebook

CVCA is great, and I'll continue to use and recommend you for cardiology pet care. Everyone (Dr. Suess, tech Heather) explained everything very thoroughly and were very sensitive to Dan being scared.

James S.
5 star rating
6/01/2022 - Yelp

CVCA was excellent to work with from beginning to end. The entire staff were extremely easy to work with.

Melanie Schaffner
5/27/2022 - Facebook

This is the fifth cat of mine who has been a patient at CVCA. The doctors are so knowledgeable, the care attentive and compassionate, and all the logistics around the appointments run like clockwork. I always know what to expect, and I am always confident my pet is in good hands.

Lauren B.
5 star rating
5/27/2022 - Yelp

Because it is specialty care, it can be quite expensive (an annual/biannual monitoring appointment of my cat's heart condition runs around $700), and you also have to book your appointment several months in advance. But Dr. Hickey and the staff are very warm and thorough, and the quality of care is excellent. They really take their time explaining things to you and have a smooth process in place for ensuring you get all the detailed records, prescriptions, and follow-ups with your regular vet that you need. The facility is clean and there is plenty of parking. The only thing is that is slightly confusing is that it shares the entrance and lobby with Blue Pearl Emergency Vet Hospital but doesn't have it's own signage.

Lisa Lanier Cary
5/26/2022 - Facebook

Everyone is terrific and very understanding even after the initial appt when I called with follow-up questions. I feel like Tank is getting the best care possible.

Cindy B.
5 star rating
5/25/2022 - Yelp

Fantastic caring staff. Dr Sibley was very thorough and took time giving us results. Staff took great care with our senior dog.

Ginger M.
5 star rating
5/24/2022 - Yelp

We had an emergency visit to CVCA as our older dog had acute kidney failure and needed a cardiac evaluation prior to any further treatment. CVCA was able to take us the same day. They were compassionate, caring, and extremely competent - understanding what we needed to have done. They were also caring for us humans who were undergoing the stresses related to a sick pet. We have been to CVCA several times before for our other dog who has heart disease and have always had a good experience. We thank them for being in our community and offering special and urgent care for our family members.

Crystal Cudnik Weimer
5/20/2022 - Facebook

Dr. Shih, Kayla, and the rest of the staff were wonderful. Not once did I feel rushed or like I wasn't being heard. The care, attention, thoroughness, and compassion they showed Wrigley and me was top-notch. I feel very confident that Wrigley will receive the best care at CVCA. I especially appreciated how Dr. Shih took the time to go over EVERYTHING with Wrigley's heart condition. She really took the time out to help me understand his condition and what to expect. She sat right down on the floor next to Wrigley and me to go over his diagnosis. You can tell she really values and cares about her patients and their owners. From the time I checked in over the phone to the time I checked out, the service was impeccable.

Ray G.
5 star rating
5/19/2022 - Yelp

If you have a dog with heart problems, go here! They are so great! They communicate with me, my primary vet, and my pets other speciality providers. I wish that I didn't have to email them every time I need a refill for my pets medication though. But that isn't really an issue for me. The most important aspect is that they listen to my concerns and actually care about my pets overall health, even though they are here for cardiac care.

Lindsey McPherson
5/10/2022 - Google

CVCA provided great care and customer service! The staff were friendly toward both me and my dog. The primary vet was very thorough in explaining my dog's heart condition, making me feel at ease in understanding what's happening with him.

Mina Fies
5/02/2022 - Facebook

The entire staff was incredible and the doctor was extremely thorough and caring. Can't recommend CVCA enough!

Marilyn M.
5 star rating
5/02/2022 - Yelp

CVCA got me in quickly, and I left the appointment with a concrete diagnosis and next steps. I had a good experience here and would recommend.

Vicki Hite Martin
4/28/2022 - Facebook

What a great place. They did a great job, explained everything as the exam went along and my dog was very comfortable with everyone that worked with him. Highly recommend.

R B
4/28/2022 - Google

I am incredibly grateful to CVCA Fairfax for fitting my sweet Bella in when I had to unexpectedly bring her to VCA Southpaws for emergency care. Unfortunately, the news and outcome for my baby girl were not what I would have hoped, but Dr Seuss was so kind and compassionate in delivering the difficult news, explaining possible options, and setting realistic expectations. As the diagnosis and prognosis were quite a shock to me, Dr Seuss was incredibly patient, allowing me to process my thoughts, emotions/tears, and addressing my many questions. Thank you to Dr Seuss and Lena for your professionalism. In our brief interactions it was very clear how much you care for the patients coming to CVCA Fairfax.

Katie Wells Heflin
4/27/2022 - Facebook

Amazing job to staff that helped with Shea! Everyone was so kind and I really appreciated that! I love that Dr. Boorstein took extra time to make sure he got the right pictures of my pups heart. He was so caring. I also loved that everyone was honest and straight to the point!

Robert LaPaglia
4/23/2022 - Facebook

Dr Everett and her staff are excellent. I had to take my dog, Pixie, to them after a concerning heart condition was discovered by my regular veterinarian. Dr Everett had a diagram and drew out the issues that Pixie has while she explained them to me. I had her results emailed over less than an hour later with great detail. They staff is very responsive to my email questions. 5 stars to everyone I’ve dealt with at CVCA.

Elizabeth Swift
4/22/2022 - Facebook

They were wonderful! I highly recommend them for your pet’s cardiac needs. Dr. Andrie was amazing. Very informative, personable, and knowledgable. All the ladies who helped me were very kind. I was nervous and they made me feel much better. Thank you guys!!!

Shira Chaya Cat
4/21/2022 - Facebook

Excellent care - both for my kitty and me! Very compassionate and knowledgeable.

Nell Payne
4/21/2022 - Google

Terrific! I've taken many pets to SouthPaws/CVCA over the years and have always been impressed with every aspect of the experience. The front desk staff, techs and vets are without exception knowledgeable, efficient, compassionate and patient. I'm always told what to expect, what it's likely to cost and what the next steps are. Everything is explained in terms I can understand and they take the time to answer my questions without making me feel rushed. I'm so thankful to know that I can rely on SouthPaws/CVCA when my pets need the care of specialists. Thank you!

Jamie H.
5 star rating
4/20/2022 - Yelp

Great over all experience with kind and compassionate staff. Dr. Andrie gave me a detailed explanation of procedures completed in the office as well as how care for my pup should be managed and what to expect in response to treatment. Dr. Andrie clearly cared about my puppy and was kind, warm and compassionate. she took her time explaining everything to me and made sure that I didn't have any more questions and encouraged me to call if I did think of any.

Nell P.
5 star rating
4/20/2022 - Yelp

Terrific! I've taken many pets to SouthPaws/CVCA over the years and have always been impressed with every aspect of the experience. The front desk staff, techs and vets are without exception knowledgeable, efficient, compassionate and patient. I'm always told what to expect, what it's likely to cost and what the next steps are. Everything is explained in terms I can understand and they take the time to answer my questions without making me feel rushed. I'm so thankful to know that I can rely on SouthPaws/CVCA when my pets need the care of specialists. Thank you!

Jessica L.
5 star rating
4/19/2022 - Yelp

Came in for an echocardiogram for my dog Dusty. Dusty and I appreciated the compassionate and informative care during our visit! Danielle handled our patient intake and she was very friendly and nice to Dusty. Dr. Holdt was also friendly and explained what would happen during today's visit. She explained everything we were looking at while performing the echocardiogram. I appreciated her thoughtful explanations and left the appointment feeling better about Dusty and his health. Overall very pleased with the compassionate care provided by all the staff during our appointment!

Email Newsletter

Sign-up today for the CVCA email newsletter.

Sign-Up Today
pug on a laptop